Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction

Welcome, Readers! You can order Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction in hardcover and e-book formats from your favorite bookseller, including indie bookstores and Amazon. We are also offering the e-book throughout December as part of a specially-curated Storybundle. Already a Leena Krohn fan? Spread the word with a quote box from the book — share your favorite from the sidebar.

Leena Krohn profiled by The New Yorker.

Leena Krohn’s Collected Fiction makes The Onion AV Club’s best of the year.

Electric Literature showcases an excerpt from Collected Fiction.

Electric Literature interviews Leena Krohn.

The New York Public Library recommends Collected Fiction.

“One of the most important books published in the U.S. this year. [Leena Krohn’s Collected Fiction] is as important a publishing event in its own way as New Directions’ release... of Clarice Lispector’s Complete Stories.”

Matthew Cheney, The Mumpsimus

“An extraordinary writer who deserves to be better known to readers in English—which, thanks to this excellent collection, is now possible. Reminiscent of Calvino, Borges, and Lem.”


A celebration of a legendary Finnish author, from the publisher of It Came From The North (a sampler of Finnish fiction), the short fiction of Nigerian legend Amos Tutuola, and the award-winning Jagannath from Swedish sensation Karin Tidbeck...

Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction

From cities of giant insects to a mysterious woman claiming to be the female Don Quixote, Leena Krohn’s fiction has fascinated and intrigued readers for over forty years. Within these covers you will discover a pelican that can talk and a city of gold. You will find yourself exploring a future of intelligence both artificial and biotech, along with a mysterious plant that induces strange visions. Krohn writes eloquently, passionately, about the nature of reality, the nature of Nature, and what it means to be human. One of Finland’s most iconic writers, translated into many languages, and winner of the prestigious Finlandia Prize, Krohn has had an incredibly distinguished career. Collected Fiction provides readers with a rich, thick omnibus of the best of her work—including novels, novellas, and short stories. Appreciations of Krohn’s work are also included.

For readers of Ursula K. Le Guin, Milan Kundera, Virginia Woolf, Tove Jansson, and Italo Calvino.

Please contact pressinfo@vandermeercreative.com for more information. The author is available for interviews.

A Note from the Editors

Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction is a massive omnibus that we feel is a landmark publishing event, collecting novels, novellas, and short stories from one of Finland’s most iconic and beloved fiction writers. In her critically acclaimed fiction, Krohn has distinguished herself as a forward-thinking writer, often tackling themes related to the nature of reality, the environment, the internet, and artificial intelligence well before fashionable. A major advocate for feminism and social justice in Finland, she has been compared to Ursula K. Le Guin and Virginia Woolf, among others. Krohn’s fiction has been translated into dozens of languages and received several awards, including the Finlandia Prize.

Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction allows English-language readers to experience the full range of this remarkable writer’s talent. Within its pages, you will find not just new short story translations but the first English-language translation of Pereat Mundus, a mind-bending novel of philosophy, science, and the future—as well as first publication of the playful but pointed children’s fantasy novel The Pelican’s New Clothes (made into a movie in Finland), which explored, in prophetic fashion, our relationship to animals. Krohn’s classic Tainaron: Mail From Another City is also included, along with several essays and appreciations of her work. Finally, we have brought back into print after long absence novels like the impressionistic Doña Quixote and Other Citizens: A Portrait, about a mysterious woman in an unnamed city, and Gold of Ophir, set in the same city as Doña Quixote.

On a personal note, we should add that we are passionate advocates for Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction. Krohn’s work is deeply relevant to the times we live in, the perspective always thoughtful and lively and deep. You will find in her work ideas, situations, and characters that are unique in literature.


Ann & Jeff VanderMeer
Cheeky Frawg Books